Legal investigations concerning Turkish translation of William Burroughs’ novel ‘The Soft Machine’

The office of the Attorney General of Istanbul recently started legal investigations concerning Yumuşak Makine (http://www NULL.selyayincilik NULL.asp?kod=697), the translation of William Burroughs’ novel The Soft Machine, translated into Turkish by Mr. Süha Sertabiboğlu, and published by publishing house Sel in Istanbul.

Notwithstanding the literary acknowledgement William Burroughs has received all over the world, the Prime Minister’s Council for the Protection of Children from Harmful Publications decided in a report, issued on the request of Istanbul’s Attorney General, that The Soft Machine had no literary value.

New Translation Prize for Russian poetry into English

A new translation award, the Joseph Brodsky/Stephen Spender Prize, has been established, celebrating the long friendship between the poets Joseph Brodsky and Stephen Spender, as well as the rich tradition of Russian poetry. Entrants from all nationalities can send in their English translation of a Russian poem.

Entries for the 2011 competition have to be sent in before 31 August 2011 and will be judged by Sasha Dugdale, Catriona Kelly and Paul Muldoon.

CEATL welcomes new member associations from Belgium, Bulgaria, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Norway

Four new member associations have joined CEATL at the Prague AGM on 12 May, 2011:

  • Association des Traducteurs Littéraires de Belgique (ATLB)
  • Bulgarian Translators’ Union (Съюз на преводачите в България (http://www NULL.bgtranslators, BTU)
  • Association of Translators and Interpreters in Bosnia and Herzegovina (Udruženje prevodilaca u Bosni i Hercegovini (http://www NULL.upbh, UPBH)
  • Norwegian Non-Fiction Writers and Translators Association (Norsk faglitterær forfatter- og oversetterforening (http://www NULL.nffo, NFF)

We now have 32 member associations from 26 countries.

The General Assembly of CEATL has elected a new Board

A new Board was elected by our General Assembly in Prague on 12 May, 2011.

  • Martin de Haan (mdehaan%40ceatl%2Eeu), President – Vereniging van Letterkundigen (VvL, The Netherlands)
  • Holger Fock (hfock%40ceatl%2Eeu), Vice-President and Treasurer – Verband deutschsprachiger Übersetzer (VdÜ, Germany)
  • Andy Jelčić (ajelcic%40ceatl%2Eeu), Vice-President – Društvo Hrvatskih Književnih Prevodilaca (DHKP, Croatia)
  • Katarína Bednárová (kbednarova%40ceatl%2Eeu), Secretary – Slovenská spoločnosť prekladateľov umeleckej literatúry (SSPUL, Slovakia)
  • Taina Helkamo (thelkamo%40ceatl%2Eeu) – Suomen kääntäjien ja tulkkien liitto (SKTL, Finland)

(http://www NULL.ceatl NULL.jpg)
From left to right: Taina Helkamo, Holger Fock, Martin de Haan, Katarína Bednárová, Andy Jelčić.