L’association Authors Guild publie les résultats d’une étude sur les conditions de travail des traducteurs littéraires aux Etats-Unis

L’association Authors Guild publie les résultats d’une étude sur les conditions de travail des traducteurs littéraires aux Etats-Unis

Le 15 décembre, l’association Authors Guild, la plus ancienne et la plus importante organisation d’écrivains aux Etats-Unis, a publié les résultats d’une étude sur les traducteurs littéraires aux Etats-Unis. Cette étude, envoyée en ligne en avril 2017 et conduite en collaboration avec l’Association des traducteurs littéraires américains, la Division littéraire de l’Association des traducteurs américains, et le Comité de Traduction du PEN America, a collecté auprès de 205 traducteurs des renseignements sur le paiement, les royalties, le copyright, et d’autres aspects de la profession de traducteur littéraire. […]

L’Union des écrivains suédois préconise le boycott du nouveau contrat du groupe Bonnier

L’Union des écrivains suédois préconise le boycott du nouveau contrat du groupe Bonnier

L’Union des écrivains suédois recommande aux traducteurs suédois de refuser tout accord avec les éditeurs du groupe Bonnier, le plus grand éditeur suédois. Onze maisons d’éditions ont été déclarées non grata par l’organisation.

Ce mouvement est la conséquence de l’introduction il y a quelques mois par le groupe Bonnier d’un nouveau projet de contrat destiné à toutes ses filiales et défavorable aux traducteurs. […]

L’Association néerlandaise démarre une campagne destinée à faire prendre conscience du chargement illégal des livres numériques

L’Association néerlandaise démarre une campagne destinée à faire prendre conscience du chargement illégal des livres numériques

Le nombre des utilisateurs de liseuse augmente – évolution positive dans la mesure où elle permet de mettre un plus large lectorat en contact avec un plus large éventail de livres. Mais il faut aussi prendre en compte les conséquences négatives de cette évolution.

Les e-books sont téléchargés illégalement et distribués sur une grande échelle. ¨…*

L’Académie de traduction littéraire d’Anvers ouvrira ses portes en Janvier 2018

L’Académie de traduction littéraire d’Anvers ouvrira ses portes en Janvier 2018

En janvier 2018, la Vertalersvakschool Amsterdam (Académie de traduction littéraire Amsterdam) inaugurera un site à Anvers, en coopération avec le Vlaams Fonds voor de Letteren (Fonds littéraire flamand). L’académie débute par un projet pilote de deux trimestres et propose des cours de traduction de l’allemand, l’anglais ou le français vers le néerlandais. Des traducteurs littéraires expérimentés enseigneront aux étudiants les ficelles du métier et les aideront à trouver leur chemin vers les éditeurs littéraires. ¨…*

STRADE demande une fondation d’état pour soutenir la traduction littéraire, et d’autres nouvelles d’Italie

STRADE demande une fondation d’état pour soutenir la traduction littéraire, et d’autres nouvelles d’Italie

L’automne a été bien rempli pour l’Union italienne des traducteurs littéraires STRADE.

Intitulé « Lost (and found) in Translation”, le Festival des Littératures migrantes, dont l’association a été l’un des partenaires principaux, s’est tenu au début du mois d’octobre à Palerme (Sicile) et a accueilli une série de manifestations liées à ce thème. Une réunion publique avec des représentants du ministère italien de la Culture, l’association des éditeurs indépendants ODEI, la municipalité de Palerme et STRADE a ouvert le festival en présentant la proposition de cette dernière d’établir une fondation d’état pour soutenir la traduction (comme c’est le cas dans de nombreux pays). ¨…*

Call for application: Paul Celan fellowships for translators 2018/2019 (deadline: 18 March 2018)

Call for application: Paul Celan fellowships for translators 2018/2019 (deadline: 18 March 2018)

The program supports translations of canonical texts, contemporary key works in the humanities, social sciences and cultural studies from Eastern to Western European languages or vice versa, or between two Eastern European languages. Special emphasis is put on translations of relevant works written by East European authors and/or female scholars. No applications for works of fiction and poetry are being accepted. […]

Authors Guild publishes results of a survey on working conditions of U.S. Literary translators

Authors Guild publishes results of a survey on working conditions of U.S. Literary translators

On 15 December the Authors Guild, the oldest and largest professional organization for writers in the United States, released results from a survey of U.S. literary translators. The survey, distributed online in April 2017 and conducted in collaboration with the American Literary Translators Association, the American Translators Association’s Literary Division, and the PEN America Translation Committee, collected information from 205 translators on payment, royalties, copyright, and various other aspects of the literary translation profession. […]

Swedish Writer’s Union advocates boycott of new contract from Bonnier Publishing Group

Swedish Writer’s Union advocates boycott of new contract from Bonnier Publishing Group

The Swedish Writers’ Union is advising translators in Sweden against entering into agreements with all publishing companies within the Bonnier Publishing Group, Sweden’s largest publisher. Eleven companies have been declared non grata by the Union.

This comes after the Bonnier Group introduced a new Draft Contract earlier this year, which is to be used by all its subsidiaries and which includes many changes for the worse for translators. […]

Dutch association starts video campaign to raise awareness of illegal downloading of e-books

Dutch association starts video campaign to raise awareness of illegal downloading of e-books

The number of users of e-readers is increasing – a positive development, as it offers opportunities to bring a broader readership into contact with a diverse range of books. But it is also important to consider the negative consequences.

E-books are illegally downloaded and distributed on a large scale. As a result, writers and translators are increasingly missing out on revenue. To bring this issue to the attention of the public, the Auteursbond (the Dutch Association of Authors), with financial support from the Dutch collecting society Lira, made a short video. […]

Academy for literary translation Antwerp opens its doors in January 2018

Academy for literary translation Antwerp opens its doors in January 2018

In January 2018 the Vertalersvakschool Amsterdam (Amsterdam Academy for literary translation) will open an academy in Antwerp in cooperation with Vlaams Fonds voor de Letteren (Flemish Literary Fund). The academy starts with a pilot of two trimesters and offers courses in translation from German, English or French literature into Dutch. Experienced literary translators will be the supervisors who teach the students the tricks of the trade and help them to find their way to literary publishers. […]

STRADE demands state foundation for the support of literary translation and other news from Italy

STRADE demands state foundation for the support of literary translation and other news from Italy

It has been a busy autumn for the Italian Union of Literary Translators Strade.

Starting at the beginning of October, the association was one of the main co-operating partners of the Migrant Literatures Festival in Palermo, Sicily, which hosted a series of events under the title “Lost (and Found) in Translation”. A public meeting with representatives from the Italian Ministry of Culture, the association of independent publishers ODEI, the Municipality of Palermo and Strade opened the whole festival, by promoting the latter’s proposal to establish a State foundation supporting translation (as it is the case in many other countries). ¨…*