CEATL is an international non-profit association (AISBL) under Belgian law, officially created in 1993 as a platform where literary translators’ associations from different European countries could exchange views and information, and join forces to improve status and working conditions of literary translators. Set up by 10 founder members, CEATL now has about 35 member associations from 30 countries across Europe, representing some 10,000 individual authors. In recent years several associations from former Eastern Europe have joined us, as has the Turkish association Çevbir, and CEATL will continue to encourage associations in the new EU member states and in EU neighbouring countries to become members.


As a literary translation we consider any translation of which the translator is the author in the legal sense, i.e. any translation that, as a text of its own, is protected by copyright law. The term ‘literary’ is used without any value judgement.

Aims and objectives

CEATL has two sets of aims, one internal and one external. On the internal front we gather information on the situation of literary translation and translators in the member countries and share experiences and examples of best practice. On the external front we defend the legal, social and economic interests of literary translators in a European context, which includes EU lobbying and reacting publicly to trends or events impacting on our profession and on the quality of literary translation. We help individual member associations to strengthen the position of literary translators in their countries.


The delegates from the member associations come together once a year at the annual general meeting, which is hosted by the associations in rotation. The CEATL executive committee is made up of at least three elected members, who serve for two years and are eligible to re-election. The executive committee fulfils the mandates voted at the annual general meeting and undertakes the necessary actions to further CEATL’s aims.

Executive committee

The current board was elected by the General Assembly in Norwich on 9 May, 2019.

  • CEATL Board. From left to right: back, Miquel Cabal Guarro, Morten Visby, Bjørn Herrman, Shaun Whiteside; front, Valérie Le Plouhinec, Lara Hölbling Matković. Photo: Eva Valvo

    Morten Visby (mvisby null@null ceatl NULL.eu), President –
    Dansk Oversætterforbund (DOF, Danemark)
    Lara Hölbling Matković (lholbling null@null ceatl NULL.eu), General secretary –
    Društvo hrvatskih književnih prevodilaca (DHKP, Croatie)
    Bjørn Herrman (bherrman null@null ceatl NULL.eu), Vice-president –
    Norsk Oversetterforening (NO, Norvège)
    Shaun Whiteside (swhiteside null@null ceatl NULL.eu), Treasurer –
    Translators’ Association (UK)
    Valérie Le Plouhinec, Secretary –
    Association des traducteurs littéraires de France (ATLF, France)
    Miquel Cabal Garro, Vice-president –
    Associació d’Escriptors en Llengua Catalana (AELC, Espagne)


Honorary members

The following people have been named honorary member of CEATL for their remarkable contribution to the association:
Esther Benítez (✝2001), Peter Bergsma, Jacqueline Carnaud, Françoise Cartano, Holger Fock, Martin de Haan, Iben Hasselbalch, Élisabeth Janvier (✝1991), Gilbert Musy (✝2002), Ros Schwartz, Manuel Serrat Crespo (✝2014), Uta Szyszkowitz, Françoise Wuilmart, Pavlos Zannas (✝1989), Giuliana Zeuli