The Mikael Agricola Prize 2014 has been awarded to Ilona Nykyri for her translation of Hans Fallada’s novel Jeder stirbt für sich allein (title of English translation: Every Man Dies Alone / Alone in Berlin). The annual award is granted to an outstanding Finnish translation of a work of fiction. Ilona Nykyri not only succeeded in recreating the atmosphere with finely detailed description, but also rendered  the robust Berlin dialect alive and strong in Finnish.

The J.A. Hollo Prize is awarded annually to an exceptionally high-quality translation of a non-fiction book into Finnish. This year The J.A. Hollo Prize was awarded to Jaana Kapari-Jatta for her translation of Virginia Woolf’s book The Death of the Moth and Other Essays.

Both awards are administered by the Finnish Association of Translators and Interpreters (SKTL) and Finnish Book Publishers’ Association and are worth €10,000 each. The J.A. Hollo Prize is funded by the Finnish Association of Non-fiction Writers.

Finnish translation awards to Ilona Nykyri and Jaana Kapari-Jatta
Tagged on: