The Heinrich Maria Ledig-Rowohlt Foundation has announced the winners of the three annual prizes awarded to distinguished literary translators.

The main Heinrich Maria Ledig-Rowohlt Prize, worth €15,000, is being awarded to Bernhard Robben in appreciation of his lifetime work of literary translation from English, covering works by such authors as Salman Rushdie, Ian McEwans, Peter Carey, Hanif Kureishi and Alain de Botton.

Alexander Nitzberg will receive the Scatcherd Prize of €10,000 for his brilliant retranslation of Mikhail Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita.

The Paul Scheerbart Prize, with a value of €5,000, goes to Jan Wagner, in recognition of his precise language and his sensitivity to the cryptic humour in the poetry of British author Simon Armitage.

The awards ceremony will take place at the Frankfurt Book Fair 2013.

Heinrich Maria Ledig-Rowohlt Foundation announces winners of three translation awards
Tagged on: