Home > News

UK Society of Authors prizes for Literary Translation
UK Society of Authors prizes for Literary Translation
8 Apr, 2016

The translation prizes (administered by the Society of Authors) were awarded at an event in February, at Europe House in London, followed by a discussion with A.L. Kennedy and Adam Mars-Jones.

The Saif Ghobash Banipal Prize (£3,000) for translations from Arabic was awarded to Paul Starkey for The Book of the Sultan’s Seal by Youssef Rakha.
The Scott Moncrieff Prize (£1,000) for translations from French went to Frank Wynne for Harraga by Boualem Sansal.
The Schlegel-Tieck Prize (£3,000) for translations from German went to Susan Bernofsky for The End of Days by Jenny Erpenbeck.
The Bernard Shaw Prize (£2,000) for translations from Swedish went to Thomas Teal for The listener by Tove Jansson.
The Premio Valle Inclán (£2,000) for translations from Spanish was given to Anne McLean for Outlaws by Javier Cercas.

The Vondel Prize for translations from Dutch (€5,000) went jointly to Donald Gardner for his translation of In those Days by Remco Campert and Laura Watkinson for The Letter for the King by Tonke Dragt.

Related news