Tapani Kärkkäinen has won the 2013 Mikael Agricola Prize for his translation of the novel Vaeltajat (original title: ‘Bieguni’) by the Polish author Olga Tokarczuk. The annual award is granted to an outstanding Finnish translation of a work of fiction. According to the jury, Kärkkäinen has a flair for finding the right words and phrases for the right context so that the reader feels he or she is reading good literature – and not a bad translation.

The J. A. Hollo Prize is given annually to an exceptionally high-quality translation of a non-fiction book into Finnish. In 2013 it was granted to Miika Luoto and Tarja Roinila for their collaborative translation of Maurice Merleau-Ponty’s collection of philosophical essays.

Both awards are administered by The Finnish Association of Translators and Interpreters (SKTL) and The Finnish Book Publishers Association and are worth 10.000 € each. The J. A. Hollo Prize is funded by The Finnish Association of Non-fiction Writers.

Tagged on: