Home > News

Translators to receive the 2023 Interpretation Prize of The Swedish Academy
Translators to receive the 2023 Interpretation Prize of The Swedish Academy
24 Apr, 2023

Polish CEATL delegate Justyna Czechowska and the Spanish translator Carmen Montes Cano have been awarded the 2023 Interpretation Prize of The Swedish Academy. They will each receive 60,000 SEK (approximately €6,000) for their valuable and important interpretations of Swedish literature into foreign languages. Read more here (in Swedish) : https://www.svenskaakademien.se/press/tolkningspriset (https://www NULL.svenskaakademien NULL.se/press/tolkningspriset)

Justyna Czechowska translates from Swedish into Polish. Among the many authors writing in Swedish that she has translated are Tove Jansson, Selma Lagerlöf, Stig Dagerman, Agneta Pleijel and Athena Farrokhzad. She founded the Polish translators’ organisation STL and assists in the programming of the literary festival Found in Translation in Gdansk. In 2018, Justyna Czechowska was awarded the Szymborska Prize, one of the most prestigious literary awards in Poland, for her translation of Linn Hanséns’ Gå till historien. In 2012, her translations were nominated for the European Poet of Freedom literary award, and in 2021, Justyna Czechowska was shortlisted for the Ryszard Kapuscuinski Award for literary reportage.

Carmen Montes Cano has translated works by authors such as Ingmar Bergman, Karin Boye, Tove Jansson, Theodor Kallifatides, Harry Martinson and Kjell Westö from Swedish into Spanish. In 2007, Carmen Montes Cano was awarded a scholarship from the Artur Lundkvist and Maria Wine Foundation and in 2013 she was awarded the Spanish government’s Premio Nacional a la Mejor Traducción for her translation of Karin Boye’s Kallocain. Carmen Montes Cano teaches literary translation and Swedish as a foreign language at the university of Granada.

The Interpretation Prize of the Swedish Academy was first awarded in 1965. Gisela Kosubek and David McDuff (2021) and Marianne Ségol-Samoy and Željka Černok (2022) have been recent prize-winners.

Related news