Independent Foreign Fiction Prize awarded to Gerbrand Bakker and translator David Colmer

This year’s Independent Foreign Fiction Prize of £10,000 has been awarded Dutch author Gerbrand Bakker and his translator David Colmer for Detour, published by Bloomsbury. The ‘mesmeric’ and ‘haunting’ novel beat off stiff competition from a prestigious shortlist: Bundu by Chris Barnard, translated from the Afrikaans by Michael Heyns; Trieste by Daša Drndić, translated from the Croatian by Ellen Elias-Bursac; The Fall of the Stone City by Ismail Kadare, translated from the Albanian by John Hodgson; Traveller of the Century by Andrés Neuman, translated from the Spanish by Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garcia; and Dublinesque, translated from the Spanish by Rosalind Harvey and Anne McLean.

The BabelMatrix project has entered a new phase

Ever since its creation shortly after the turn of the millennium, the BabelMatrix project has undergone several transformations, and it continues to grow.

The aim of this site (http://www NULL.babelmatrix, which is dedicated to literary translation and translators, is to showcase the richness of world literature in translation by presenting extracts that invite readers to continue reading.

Residency program for literary translators in Vienna

The Austrian Ministry of Education, Art and Culture in co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria offers 50 residency grants for artists wanting to work on their projects inVienna. The residencies for 2014 are also open to literary translators living outside ofAustria.

For more details about the program and the application terms, please click here (http://www NULL.uebersetzercolloquium and here (http://www NULL.bmukk NULL.gv

Literary Translation Conference at the Turin Book Fair (16-20 May 2013)

Under the title of AutoreInvisibile, the Turin International Book Fair, which attracts more than 1400 exhibitors and 300,000 visitors every year, will organise a number of activities of special interest to translators.

From Thursday 16 May to Sunday 19 May 2013, translators, publishers and writers will participate in seminars and debates to analyse the issues and future outlook for the literary translation professions, including the significant changes taking place in the publishing industry since the advent of digital technology.

Four German Translation Prizes awarded

The 2013 Straelen Translation Award has been awarded to Nikolaus Stingl for his lifework of translations from English, in particular for his translation Der Tunnel (‘The Tunnel’), a novel by William Gass.

The € 25,000 award, the highest endowed literary prize in the whole German-speaking region, is granted by the art foundation NRW (North Rhine-Westphalia) in cooperation with Europäisches Übersetzer-Kollegium (‘European Translator´s College’) in Straelen (Germany).

6th Edition of Biblit – survey on literary translators’ rates into and out of Italian

The 6th  Biblit survey on rates paid to literary translators working into or from Italian has just been published. The idea of giving an overview of the actual situation in the Italian market for literary translations dates back to 2004, when the project was initiated. The survey aims to make a range of up-to-date information available to all translators, whether beginners or experienced, so that they can better negotiate with their publishers.

The General Assembly of CEATL has elected a new Board

A new Board was elected by our General Assembly in Vienna on 25 April, 2013.

  • Bel Olid (bolid null@null ceatl, President – Associació d’Escriptors en Llengua Catalana (AELC, Catalonia)
  • Martin de Haan (mdehaan null@null ceatl, Vice-President – Vereniging van Letterkundigen (VvL, The Netherlands)
  • Holger Fock (hfock%40ceatl%2Eeu), Vice-President – Verband deutschsprachiger Übersetzer literarischer u.

Czech ‘Magnesia Litera’ translation prize goes to Věra Koubová

Now in its twelfth year, Magnesia Litera is a prestigious Czech literary prize presented annually for the best books published in the previous year. Besides the overall prize,  awards were presented  in eight literary categories (prose, poetry, translation, children’s literature, non-fiction, debut writing, publishing achievement and readers’ choice) at a ceremony broadcast live on national prime-time television on April 24, 2013.